Regatta Calendar


2020 Mentor Harbor Yachting Club Indigo Trophy Race Date TBD

The Indigo Trophy Race is a long distance night race that will be held the Friday evening before the Mentor Regatta, starting off Cleveland.

For NOR and Registration information, send a request to

The Indigo Trophy was donated by S.K.”Skrubby” Wellman who owned a series of boats named “Indigo”. The first was a Snipe in the 1930’s. Right after World War II he bought a Sparkman and Stephens 35ft Weekender, followed by a larger S&S 38′ near sister ship to Carlton Mitchell’s “Finisterre”. Then he built a Ted Hood designed 46 footer with which he won the Transatlantic Race which finished on the Baltic Sea in Germany from a start at Newport, Rhode Island. He was 76 years old at the time! Meanwhile he sailed countless Mackinac Races, SORC campaigns, and several Bermuda Races.

The Indigo Trophy Race has always followed the Falcon Race by several weeks and has had various courses, but has always included rounding the Cleveland waterworks crib at night. The first Indigo Trophy Race was held on September 5, 1969.

Results: 2012201120102009200820072006200520042003Past winners


2020 Mentor Harbor Yachting Club Falcon Cup 82nd Annual Falcon Cup Race and 22nd Annual Sundance Race Date TBD

For NOR and Registration information, send a request to

The Falcon Cup, which was donated by the late Commodore R.A. Bostwick, has been raced between Rocky River (Cleveland Yachting Club) and Mentor (MHYC). The race for the Falcon Trophy is open to singe hulled cruising auxiliary sailboats with a minimum of 6000 pounds displacement and measuring no less than 25 feet overall. The boats must have permanently mounted inboard engines with a shaft and propeller, be outfitted with bunks, stove and a head. Converted racing boats are specifically barred from entering. The committee reserves the rights to refuse entry to any boat not within the spirit of the race; any boat with the committee deems unseaworthy; or any boat not entered from an I-LYA member club.

The Sundance Trophy Race will be sailed concurrently with the Falcon Cup Race. It is open to boats which do not meet one or more of the criteria established for the Falcon Cup Race. Entrants must be members of an I-LYA yacht club.

Results:  2019, 2018201720162015201420132012201120102009200820072006200520042003